What happens if the racket or player falls down?

by Brahma teja Sonti


If the player or racket falls down while playing is it considered as a re serve or its considered as a point?

Hi Brahma. It is not a fault/foul if a player falls down or drops his/her racquet during a game. Even during international tournaments, it is very common to see players dive and fall to the ground to defend a badminton smash.

Unless the player falls down or drop his racquet AND IS NOT ABLE to return the shuttlecock, then that player loses a point.

However, if the player falls down because the floor was slippery or because of other factors, the umpire/judge will decide whether it is a point or a re-serve.

I hope this answer helps you.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It’s easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Questions on Rules.

Like Masterbadminton.com?