Is it possible to retrieve a serve on behalf of a badminton partner?

by Swarnendu

(Asansol, India)

Question: Suppose…the serve is coming towards my partner,can I hit it?

Hi Swarnendu, thank you for your question.

I’m assuming your question is related to badminton doubles.

If your opponent delivers the service and your partner is the RECEIVER in that rally, you are NOT allowed to receive the serve on behalf of your partner.

Each serve is directed towards one person and only that person can hit that serve.

The other partner who is not receiving the shuttle has to wait until the shuttle is returned.

Click here if you would like to have more information on the rules for badminton doubles.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It’s easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Questions on Rules.