Can a racket be switched from right to left hand during a rally?

by Praveen Kumar

(Bangalore, India)

Question: Whether racket could be switched from right to left hand during a rally?

Hi Praveen, yes you can switch your racket from your left to right hand and vice versa.

However, switching your racket to your other hand is time consuming. It slows you down as well.

I would suggest to just use your dominant arm to hold your racket.

Role of Your Non-Dominant Arm

People usually hold the badminton racket and perform various shots with their dominant hand.

But even your other arm (non-dominant arm) has its role! We term it the “non-racket arm” and it helps you maintain body balance.

In fact, making use of your non-racket arm is the KEY to badminton body balance.

Click here to learn the role of your non-racket arm and how to use it for better badminton body balance.

Comments for Can a racket be switched from right to left hand during a rally?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 05, 2015

Can a racket be switched

by: Anonymous

Switching hands is a rare event in Badminton, but it is allowed. I have read from top rated companies that write assignments for you that it is completely legal to do so, and would be a good surprise for the opponent who would be expecting a straight game. However, one must remember that it is not easy as switch hitting in baseball, because there would be only one chance and failure would result in bad criticism.

Oct 28, 2015


by: John

It’s remarkable to visit this web page and reading the views of all colleagues on the topic of this paragraph, while I am also keen of getting experience.

Aug 12, 2015

chnaging hand in a game of badminton

by: Anonymous

cn you please provide me any instance in international badminton match.

Or any link where it is written, i play with both hands and i need some proper rulesheet to prove myself in a tournament

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It’s easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Questions on Rules.