Badminton Serve: Can you serve with two hands as long as you start your swing from below the waist?
Question: Can you serve with two hands as long as you start your swing downward below the waist?
Hi there, thanks for your question.
A service can’t be made if both hands are holding the racket, since you’ll need one hand (your racket arm) to hold your racket while your other hand (non-racket hand) is used to hold the shuttlecock.
You’re correct in the sense that your swing must start from below your waist line.
As long as the head of your badminton racket is below your waist line, it is not a fault.
Nevertheless, there are also some potential faults that you might want to know when performing a badminton serve.
Check out this page which explains the possible badminton fouls that you might commit during a badminton game, including service faults.
Join in and write your own page! It’s easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Questions on Service Rules.